Post-Thanksgiving Facts

Do you know that here in Canada the history of Thanksgiving goes back to an explorer  Martin Frobisher, who had been trying to find a northern passage to the Pacific Ocean in 1578.

Martin Frobisher’s Thanksgiving was not for harvest but homecoming. He had safely returned from a search for the Northwest Passage.

In that same year, he held a formal ceremony in Newfoundland to give thanks for surviving the long journey. The feast was one of the first thanksgiving celebrations by Europeans in North America.

It was considered a historic Thanksgiving.

Through the years, there were a number of changes, such as when talking about recent history- the first Thanksgiving Day after Confederation was observed as a civic holiday on April 5, 1872, to celebrate the recovery of the Prince of  Wales ( later King Edward VII) froma serious illness.

Starting in 1879, Thanksgiving Day was observed every year, but the date was proclaimed annually and changed year to year.

I had been in a sense of awe when I stumble upon facts concerning Canada , and it’s rich history. I love Canada as much as I love my home country.

I am grateful for being here and being a Canadian because Canada let me realized the full potential of my dream.

And the reason I am talking about Thanksgiving is because after being gone for a long time ….here I am ..came back with something I love to talk about.

And lastly, do you know that a perfectly roasted turkey is undoubtedly the star of the show  when it comes to Thanksgiving  every second Monday in October here in Canada.

Leave a Reply

