THANKSGIVING OFFERS SIMPLE LEARNING

This is the best part of the fall season- one of the most anticipated meal of the month

[picapp src=”3/8/2/b/06.JPG?adImageId=5337492&imageId=2880030″ width=”380″ height=”285″ /]

Again, a time for friends to be eating and drinking and having fun.

Living here in Canada, I learned to make a homemade turkey dinner every thanksgiving.

IMG00255

I have to say honestly, it wasn’t easy. It took me two years to be finally on my own preparing it.

When I first came , my husbands family invited us for two years and by then that is when I came to observed how his parents prepares it from the frozen turkey, to the dressing, to the gravy, to the mashed potatoes and a bake yam dessert topped with marshmallows.

On my third year in Canada, I finally decided it is time to move on and learn the basics of preparing a turkey dinner and share it with my own family and few friends I came to know.

IMG00256

It was a trial and error and only a matter of time until I began to show some mastery on how I wanted my dressing , gravy and turkey look and taste how I wanted it.

HPIM0954

This year, it was so easy as I learned to improvise using other ingredients to enhance some flavor in my turkey dinner meal.

The only setback is, only the trio of us sat down for this year’s thanksgiving day, since most of the relatives and friends we know were away somewhere.

IMG00257

So, I prepared the turkey dinner without the flashy arrangement I normally do yearly with matching  table cloth and napkins.

The best part, I was able to enjoy the solemness of thanksgiving with my own family without all the pomp and romp of the occasion, just plain simple solemn thanksgiving.

What else can I wish for?

Leave a Reply

