HOW’S YOUR KID AT SCHOOL?

In this era where one can see an influx of immigrant family coming to Canada and the rest of the world.

Have you ever wondered how the children cope up with the biggest challenge in their lives?

It is a story I stumbled upon, as a teacher assistant. This is the story of children who are in trouble despite their best intentions that had touched me so dear.

I had been working with children for six years now. However,  it was the ethnic children who caused me to reexamined my core beliefs about the problems that parents of young children had been describing for years.

I thought I knew how to manage difficult behaviour, until I found myself working with children who didn’t fit the models from which I had been operating.

These children caught me by surprise.

I wasn’t prepared for what they had to teach me.

They laid markers along the path that required me to look beyond the traditional teachings of our discipline to a broader view of the underlying causes of problematic behaviour in children.

Through my experiences with these children and many other children in school, I became convinced that the standard diagnostic labels historically attached to children who are difficult to get along with do not always capture the complexity and nuance of their perplexing behaviour.

As I witnessed, time and time again, teachers, psychologists and sometimes parents frequently blame the problem on the child, labeling them as stubborn, hyperactive, or just downright ornery.

These children do things that baffle their teachers, try the patience of their parents, and disappoint themselves.

They refuse to cooperate with the simplest request at times. They come across as different, awkward, or preoccupied. They may appear frustrated, anxious, or just out of sorts.

As a teacher assistant, one of my responsibility is to encourage the child’s success and involvement at school and supervise and guide appropriate behaviour while I am working with them.

One thing, that I felt overlooked over and over again in any give situation is that- there are no perfect children and no perfect parents.

All children misbehave sometimes.

I strongly believed that some frustrating behaviours that children exhibit may not be a matter of misbehaviour, as much as the child’s inability to respond appropriately and /or in a timely manner.

I also believed that each child development of language and the beginning ability to judge their own actions with such emotions as shame and guilt had varying levels of maturity.

As children mature, they are most likely to follow rules and be able to control themselves, but until they do, they will need understanding and allowances for their level of maturity.

Most of all, I believed that these children aside from their parents need other people to act as second parents everytime they’re in school to help them learn appropriate behaviours while feeling loved and supported even during times they lose control and behave in ways that are puzzling since they seem so extreme and out of proportion in a situation.

I want these children to be socialized to get along with and care for others and follow the rules of our society, this is one of the major task I assumed as a teacher assistant eventhough it was not in the Teacher Assistant handbook.

I love what I do and I go beyond what is required of me because working with children can be so rewarding when children reciprocated back to you in their own simple, innocent way.

I find it easy to reach out and be open with these children because at some levels, there’s a common ground.

Feeling alienated- they feel alienated

And someone,or somebody have to break it and make them feel connected but sadly  the truth is, there’s more people out there that took their job for granted, people who are after the paycheck.

I longed for more people to be out there with me sharing the same passion to  make a difference in the lives of these children.

Then maybe….just maybe…I wouldn’t feel alienated trying to make a difference in these children’s lives in my daily encounter with them.

Leave a Reply

