FINDING TIME TO UNWIND

We live in times of incredible change, where the pace of life places more burdens on us.52080f9b-a4b0-4f51-b292-bf2daaea23c7

With so many things to do, so much to take care of, it is very easy to let life run away with us.

We may find our time is filled with with so many tasks that the effects of stress on our bodies, minds and emotions go largely unnoticed…that is until something goes wrong.

Our bodies are very good at telling us what is going on, but perhaps we have forgotten how to read the constant signals before a problem kicks in.

Stress is one of the major lifestyle factors of our times. It can be physical, mental or emotional or sometimes all three at once.

Stress often arises because we ignore the persistent signals our body is giving us about our environment.

Learning to manage stress is mostly a matter of learning to be aware of the signs, interpreting them, and doing something about them as soon as they arise. Ignoring a problem is not the answer; noticing it and learning how to deal with it is the way forward.

Taking time out in nature as often as I can really helps me to relax both body and mind.

I am very lucky to be able to live in an acreage in the city outskirt.

Now, that school is back, I usually walked with my bo to the main entrance way in our property where the school bus picks him up every morning.

As soon as he was gone, I normally started my walk back to the house, enjoying the immense green lush of the prairie grass as it stretches miles and miles in front of me.

The early morning mist soaked my feet in flip flops every step of the way back  to the house.

I love the tranquil feeling where all I could hear is the sound of my steps and the chirping of the birds.

The sound of the splashing water pond is so calming and the sight of the birds bathing and drinking is so inviting.

Most mornings I tried to take the pressure off my daily life and allow myself to feel, breathe  and get lost in deep thoughts.

Life is beautiful. That has to be said.

Six  years ago, when I first move to Canada, I didn’t think I could cope up with transitions in my life.

Transitions are tough, but I discovered it’s easier to uncover the lesson it has to offer me if  I stop thinking  that I should know how to play my role  from the start.

I remembered this lines from Charles Darwin that said:  It’s not the strongest or the smartest that survives but the ones who can best adapt to change.

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Fr. Felmar Castrodes Fiel, SVD
    Sep 23, 2009 @ 23:29:20

    agree with mr. nonsense!

    at one point in my life, i wanted to change the world…pero sa huli, i changed myself.

  2. maroseqf
    Sep 14, 2009 @ 12:28:11

    Tama ka! galing mo sis!

  3. jangeronimo
    Sep 14, 2009 @ 09:25:30

    Goodness gracious. Look at your words. Better yet have someone read it to you. They’re so poetic:

    “As soon as he was gone, I normally started my walk back to the house, enjoying the immense green lush of the prairie grass as it stretches miles and miles in front of me.

    The early morning mist soaked my feet in flip flops every step of the way back to the house.

    I love the tranquil feeling where all I could hear is the sound of my steps and the chirping of the birds.

    The sound of the splashing water pond is so calming and the sight of the birds bathing and drinking is so inviting.”

    Now, reading something like this can send one to deep thought or to unwind even. Indeed, what’s the big rush anyway. Unwinding refreshes our senses, gives us more perspective on how best to live life with greater appreciation.

    Thanks for this. It’s a splendid reminder for all of us. 🙂

  4. Walongbote
    Sep 14, 2009 @ 08:36:49

    You really had a gudlyf to thank the lord. Life is stressful but its a matTEr of how we handle it.

  5. puzzle
    Sep 14, 2009 @ 05:20:46

    Yes, I do find it stressful that I got so many things to do with so much little time at hand. All I ever dream of is to have something different from my routinary activities just to take away that S.

  6. John Neyman Jr.
    Sep 14, 2009 @ 03:07:14

    Wonderful post! I totally agree that finding time to unwind helps manage stress. Breaking the daily routine allows both the body and mind to relax.

    http://johnneyman.com/79/how-to-manage-stress/

  7. Mr. Nonsense
    Sep 14, 2009 @ 00:57:00

    i live by that last line. we cant change the world or the changes around us. but we can definitely change our outlook 🙂

Leave a Reply

