BACK TO SCHOOL WOES

Think of all the children moving away from home  to be in school all day again.

My son is one of thousands leaving home heading back to school all day this fall. ( Am I the only parent brimming with pride and having nervous breakdown simultaneously? )

PROGRESS. EXPANSION. CHANGE.

Three words. It’s fascinating and exciting.

Sometimes, I wonder, that maybe it does not matter what I do right now.

I can put him in piano lessons and soccer, I can bring him to a fellowship every Sunday.

I can shower him with lots of love.

But once he becomes a teenager…well sometimes with or without me- in the end my son will grow up to become the person he was meant to be.

All I can do right now is to do my best to lead him in the right direction.

Kids are people too, once they start getting older they make decisions.

My son is facing a tremendous milestone in his life right now. Big changes, that sometimes made me think, he is growing fast like a whirlwind and it made me feel : I wanna be part of anything he’s going through right now, get as much bonding as I could and cherished every moment of reading books, telling silly jokes and all.

pretending to be a Prince

pretending to be a Prince

He enjoys this  FLEXOAM -foam building and sculpting system for kids  and turn it into a crown

He enjoys this FLEXOAM -foam building and sculpting system for kids and turn it into a crown

Last month, he learned to ride his bike without training wheels, I was one of the many mothers wondering why my son had been so reluctant with his grip, balance and flexibility with riding , he can ride the horse with Dad’s help without any problem, it took him sometime with the bike.

Few weeks ago, he went on for the boy’s choir audition for one of the internationally recognized chorale group here.

When I looked at my son, I saw myself in him, hard to comprehend but that tiny sparkle in his eyes while singing songs he was asked to sing demonstrates a star in the making….he may never get to shine like the brightest star but I can envision that Music is likely another area he will excel in the future.

I was nervously waiting for the outcome, and how is he going to react to rejection if it happens, but my son at an early age shows sophisticated optimism, before the audition he told me he will be alright, after all it is just an audition he can try again next time.

When he was done, we waited eagerly for the announcement, and when we both heard the “welcome aboard buddy”.

He took it simply with a nod and a smile while I found myself leaping in between giggles.

It created quite a stir with other mother’s nearby but were simply just nice enough to accomodate my sudden outburst of emotion.

But come to think of it.

The best performers in the world be it music, sports, dance , whatever field of endeavor it may be; most does not excel with talent alone- most of them triumph with effort.

When talent and effort combined together , there is a synergy often powerful enough to produce perfection.

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. darbs
    Sep 04, 2009 @ 23:37:14

    @browny99, paki pindot na lang na ung crown nya is so cool!

    The truth is mas marami akong natutunan sa pagiging ama. Most of all, patience… patience and patience… and more patience…

    Ang gustong gusto ko ung napakadali mo silang mapatawa.

    Of course, ung palaging ni remind mo ung bata by saying “I love you son!”

  2. pinkdiaries
    Sep 04, 2009 @ 16:24:27

    ang masasabi ko lng po is, wow! he is so lucky to have you!

  3. pinkdiaries
    Sep 04, 2009 @ 16:07:17

    base ba ako?!

  4. Fr. Felmar Castrodes Fiel, SVD
    Sep 04, 2009 @ 15:56:34

    may pakontest ako sa base:

    http://fielsvd.wordpress.com/base-contest/

    pwede kang sumali…

  5. Fr. Felmar Castrodes Fiel, SVD
    Sep 04, 2009 @ 15:56:09

    base ako!

Leave a Reply

