A Teacher’s Dilemma

kindergarten graduation day

kindergarten graduation day

AIM NOT TO FAIL

The common idea that success spoils people by making them vain,egotistic and self-complacent is erroneous. On the contrary, it makes them, for the most part, humble, tolerant, and kind. It is failure that makes people bitter and cruel. —-W.S.MAUGHAM

Consider me, I am an English Teacher in the country of my origin. At first, I wanted to used my foreign teaching profession in Manitoba to prove that I could do it. When people started making a big deal about my age, I put my own spin on it. Granted, I couldn’t train as intensely as a 20 year old teacher, but in other ways my age worked to my advantage. I had experience. I knew how to deal with pressure; I knew what to expect. Plus, I didn’t even know what  34 years old is supposed to feel like.

 

The biggest setback was when my application for Teaching Certification had been denied. I was told , If I want to practice my teaching profession in Manitoba, I needed to have a first degree, then study Bachelor of Education A.D. ( After Degree).

 

I never gave up, I soon realized that my goal was to inspire others to return to dreams they put off.

 

Other peoples doubt gave me an inner resolve; I was not ready to give up. I turned to Credentials Assessment Office and have my foreign credentials assessed based on Manitoba equivalent.

 

As it turned out my 4 year degree were reduced to a 2 year post secondary university education and the other two years were added to my highschool education of grade 10 to suffice the grade 12 highschool requirement,since formal schooling in the Philippines starts from grade one-six for elementary and then first-fourth year highschool only which gave me only a grade 10 according to how they assessed it.

 

I always tried to stay positive. The obstacles thrown at me right now will be more rewarding in the end when I reached my goals.

 

I tried to forget about my pride, afterall, what is wrong with being an assistant to teachers here, that is when I became a teacher assistant .

 

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. browny99
    Aug 06, 2009 @ 20:36:43

    Thanks! Good to know that you are also a teacher, it is a long hard journey, you know…I can relate to the doubts and fears you have, I still have them…teaching is always a learning experience..and I guess , in a teaching profession, it is a calling one is ready to take and sacrifice for the betterment of shaping young minds, and then that is when you don’t feel the burden and instead start to love what you do.
    I myself, don’t know how long I will be doing it, given the job market here in Canada for teachers is saturated , too many fresh graduates , no full time position, most do a lot of substitute teaching.
    So, you know…that is why aside from teaching I do other stuff.

  2. Ivan
    Aug 06, 2009 @ 06:22:04

    Your story and struggles in the realization of your goals really inspires me. Your such a person full of postive thoughts. Hope to have such optimism. I am a teacher also. Still young in this profession or vocation as they say. I’m in the stage wherein I find it as quandary that leads me to doubts and confusions. I don’t know how to enjoy this profession though I love to be with my students. That’s whiy at present I tried to determine whether if I will really or I will be long on this career.

  3. browny99
    Aug 03, 2009 @ 09:12:43

    thanks for the compliment!

  4. Fr. Felmar Castrodes Fiel, SVD
    Aug 03, 2009 @ 07:19:37

    you are inspiring…

Leave a Reply

