Look Back II

Now, getting off the plane, I felt my nerves, which lit all the way to my knees. The schedule I’d found in my permanent residents pack directed me next to the immigration section where people lined up and the representatives of Citizenship and Immigration Canada sat behind banks of tables, introducing themselves to the passengers milling by.

I joined the Asian looking groups as the Security officer had requested.I had waited for a couple of minutes with my four year old son in tow.

Then my turn came,I handed out my Confirmation of Permanent Residence in a most confident way I could ever imagine.

The man was short and with a full beard, he looked to be in his forties.

He looked at me and the papers I handed him, asked few questions and blurted out ” I want to welcome you to Canada”.

I was such in high spirits after that moment.

Leave a Reply

